Inspirational Read – A must for novella lovers, and of gay men…Like the Taste of Summer…

Okay, so I wasn’t going to use this blog for this purpose, but I’ve absolutely decided I must reconsider, as I have read such an inspirational novella today in my spare time.  I must say, it’s one of the best I’ve read in a long time.  Author Kaje Harper has touched on several of the most sensitive aspects of being  gay:  realization and the moments that follow, meeting your first love, building the relationship, the hardships and scrutiny in small town America, overcoming those challenges, and forcing outside influences out of your mind and life to make it last.

I have fallen in love with Like the Taste of Summer.  In the hour it took me to read and embellish every word, I could have been doing many other things, but the fact is – I am so glad I didn’t.  I come from a small town in America, where everyone knows me and I know them, so when this story outlined those subtleties in which succumb small town farming communities, I was hooked, and waited for the story to unfold.  Harper’s writing is so eloquent, yet comprehensible; you fall in love with the characters easily, and get to know them quickly.  I absolutely recommend this novella, if the genre fits – and I must say – it is written tastefully.  Please, check it out!

3 thoughts on “Inspirational Read – A must for novella lovers, and of gay men…Like the Taste of Summer…

  1. clifflkey says:

    I must add a disclaimer here, sorry…I don’t know the author, nor do I have permission to use the name of the book or name of the author. I am simply praising a work of fiction that I have found truly inspiring. Thanks!

  2. alexkayden says:

    I don’t know that book honestly said and I admit that I am not a huge fan of books as a whole. But I can recommend you a movie called “Shank”-i think you may like it. 🙂
    Btw-I am slowly continuing with reading your book. So far i find it really good.

    • clifflkey says:

      I have actually seen Shank, and it is quite a tragic, but great quality movie with a nice plot. I enjoyed the movie – I saw it a few years ago. Thanks for the recommendation, and thanks for continuing to read – I know it’s lengthy and time consuming. 🙂

Leave a comment